wonderful you dont you cry tonightcry…and goodnight

& October 9, 2009
Hello again, panda fans!
It seems that the birth our newest cub has sparked the interest and curiosity of people all around the world. An increasing number of people are calling the San Diego Zoo, sending letters, and posting questions on our blog site. Never fear, your favorite keeper is here (humbly, of course)!
Your questions range from “How is Bai taking care of her cub?” to “What was Su Lin doing on the Panda Cam the other morning?” It’s a wide scope and I won’t be able to answer all of them at once, but I will do my best.
First and foremost, Bai Yun is being a wonderful mother, as always.
This is my first time with a panda cub, so I’m nervous every time she covers him with bamboo or leaves him on the
but Bai is an experienced mom, and she knows what she’s doing.
Like any mother who’s had multiple offspring, Bai seems to become more confident in her parenting skills with each cub. When Hua Mei, her firstborn, was a cub, Bai was right there to check on her and to hold her every time she squeaked or moved. With her fifth cub, Bai knows that if she feeds him at a certain time, he’ll fall asleep long enough to let her eat a good meal.
Several people have asked about the bamboo nest in Bai’s cubbing den. Part of being a good mom is providing safe shelte the nest in the den is Bai Yun’s handiwork. About one month before a cub is born, Bai is given access to her birthing den.
Keepers cut her normal bamboo diet into 2- or 3-foot lengths (instead of the usual 5- or 6-foot lengths), short enough for her to comfortably carry into the den. In the few weeks before she gives birth, Bai Yun shreds and arranges bamboo to make a soft, warm nest for her cub.
We keepers glance into the den opportunistically to inspect her work.